The Library of Congress > Chronicling America > Osage Valley banner.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities external link and the Library of Congress. Learn more

Pages Available: 7,967,777

Title:
Osage Valley banner. : (Tuscumbia, Miller County, Mo.) 1879-1881
Place of publication:
Tuscumbia, Miller County, Mo.
Geographic coverage:
  • Tuscumbia, Miller, Missouri  |  View more titles from this: City County, State
Publisher:
A. Fulkerson & Sons
Dates of publication:
1879-1881
Description:
  • Began in 1879? Ceased in 1881?
Frequency:
Weekly
Language:
  • English
Subjects:
  • Miller County (Mo.)--Newspapers.
  • Osage River Valley (Mo.)--Newspapers.
  • Tuscumbia (Mo.)--Newspapers.
Notes:
  • Archived issues are available in digital format as part of the Library of Congress Chronicling America online collection.
  • Description based on: Vol. 1, no. 2 (Jan. 16, 1879).
LCCN:
sn 90061739
OCLC:
21585715
ISSN:
2326-9464
Related Links:
Holdings:
View complete holdings information
View
First Issue Last Issue

Osage Valley banner. January 16, 1879, Image 1

Browse:

Calendar View

All front pages

First Issue  |  Last Issue

Tuscumbia Osage Valley Ban

The Osage Valley Banner was established by the firm of A. Fulkerson & Sons in Tuscumbia, Missouri, in 1879. It was advertised as the only newspaper published in Miller County and was therefore called the “Official Paper of Miller County.� The Banner was a four-page weekly that ran each Thursday until it ceased publication in 1881.

On December 30, 1880, the newspaper proudly announced that “This week gives the 52ndnumber of the second volume of the Osage Valley Banner. We must congratulate our friends not only in the Osage Valley, but the outside world, and express our thankfulness of being sustained during that period, we have conducted a public journal the last five years at this place; three years of the Vidette and the last two O.V. Banner: during which time our aim has been more to the building up county interests than anything else.  Many may suppose a printer has a ‘fat thing,’ but our experience tells us otherwise. The fat has been depleted; yet there is life; and as long as life, there is hope.�

The Banner is an important resource in chronicling the history and significance of the Osage River which connected central and west central Missouri to the state capital in Jefferson City to the west and to St. Louis to the east. The January 8, 1880 issue of the Banner included comments from Jonathan F. Phillips, a Congressman from Missouri who supported allocating federal money to assist with improvements in navigation on the Osage. The Banner printed Phillips’ statement before the Commerce Committee: “Mr. Chairman: The Osage River is the second river of importance in the State of Missouri. Its source is in the State of Kansas; it is 500 miles in length. Its officially recognized navigability is 255 miles. It interlocks with the waters of the Arkansas. In its sweep it touches in the State of Missouri the counties of Bates, St. Clair, counties largely dependent on it, with the aggregate area of 9,000 square miles drained by it, and more or less dependent on it for commercial communication. For thirty years steamboats have with more or less frequency been on its waters.�

Throughout its brief run, the Banner reported on the rich history of the Osage River and the steamboats that operated on it.

Provided by: State Historical Society of Missouri; Columbia, MO