OCR Interpretation

The day book. [volume] (Chicago, Ill.) 1911-1917, April 07, 1915, LAST EDITION, Image 6

Image and text provided by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library, Urbana, IL

Persistent link: https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn83045487/1915-04-07/ed-2/seq-6/

What is OCR?

Thumbnail for

(Holdovers in blackface.)
Ward. Alderman. Politics
The people not only spoke yester
day, but they howled in loud, clear
tones. And in spiteo.jthe trust press
and the public utility corporations
they passed up Sweitzer and elected
William Hale Thompson.
To make the job complete the peo
ple gave Thompson a plurality of
139,624, the largest in the history of
Chicago. Wards which had been con
ceded to Sweitzer by Thompson man
agers turned around and did their
share in electing the new mayor.
The victory of Thompson is the
most crushing blow ever received by
the trust press. For several weeks
the Daily News, the Herald and the
Hearst papers have been pounding
Thompson, while the other papers,
with the exception of The Post, stood
back and grinned their approval.
The victory is also a sad upset to
the hopes of the public utility cor
porations whilh had been staking
their all on the candidacy of Sweitzer.
Theh Socialists placed two men in
the city council, Wm. E. Rodriguez
and John C. Kennedy.
"AD the pledges I made in the
campaign I made with all sincerity
and I shall endeavor to redeem every
last pledge," said Thompson, after
his election was assured. "We will
have an able council It will be com
posed of a great many men who will
take hold of this big question of a
better .and bigger Chicago earnestly,
and we will win."
Denis Morrison, publicity repre
sentative of the Thompson forces
who had the task of spreading his
candidate's gospel broadcast in spite
of the opposition of the press, issued
a statement in which attributed the
Thompson victory to the public's
awakened knowledge of the trust
press' endorsement of corporation
Mayor Wm.-Hale Thompson, Rep.
City Treasurer C. H. Sergei, Rep.
City Clerk John Siman, Rep. ,
1 John Coughlin Dem.
1 Michael Kenna Dem.
2 Hugh Norris Rep.
2 Oscar De Priest Rep.
3 Edward J. Werner Rep.
3 N. A. Stern (short term) . . .Rep.
A John A. Richert Dem.
4 David R. Hickey Dem.
5 Thomas A. Doyle Dem.
5 Charles Martin Dem.
6 Willis 0. Nance Rep.
6 Alexander A. McCormick. . .Rep.
7 John N. Kimball Ind.
7 Charles E. Merriam Rep.
8 Ernest M. Cross Rep.
8 John E. Tyden Rep.
9 Eugene H. Block Dem.
9 Hiram Vanderbilt Rep.
10 James McNichols Dem.
10 'Frank Klaus Dem.
11 C. F. Pettkoske Dem.
11 Edward F. Cullerton Dem.
12 Rudolph Mulac Rep.
12 Otto Koerner Dem.
13 Frank H. Ray Rep.
13 J. R. Anderson Rep.
14 Joseph H. Smith Dem.
14 James H. Lawley Rep.
15 H. Utpatel (long term) . . .Rep.
15 Wm. E. Rodriguez Soc.
16 John Szymkowski Dem.
16 Vincent W. Zwiefka Dem.
17 S. S. Walkowiak Dem.
17 Lewis D. Sitts Rep.
18 William J. Healy Rep.
18 B. J. Grogan Dem.
19 James B. Bowler Dem.
19 John Powers Dem.'
20 Henry L. Fick Dem.
20 H. E. Miller Rep.
21 Hugo Krause Prog.
21 'Ellis Geiger Dem.
22 John H. Bauler Dem.
22 William P. Ellison Dem.
23 John Kjellander Rep.
23 Thomas O. Walace Rep.
24 John Haderlein Dem.,
24 Herman E. Gnadt . ., Rep0 '

xml | txt